IMU (MARINE) Details



The Indian Maritime University came into being through an Act of Parliament (Act 22) on 14th November 2008 as a Central University and is poised to play a key role in the development of trained human resource for the maritime sector. 

The Indian Maritime University (IMU) was established on 14th November 2008 as a teaching-cum-affiliating university under the aegis of the Ministry of Shipping, Government of India, with Chennai as headquarters. It was set up to promote maritime studies, training, research and extension with focus on emerging areas like oceanography, maritime history, maritime laws, maritime security, search and rescue, transportation of dangerous cargo, environmental studies and other related fields, and to achieve excellence in these areas.

There were 7 renowned legacy teaching-cum-research institutes under the Ministry of Shipping, and these were subsumed under the Indian Maritime University in November 2008. The 3 institutes in Mumbai, namely, the Training Ship Chanakya, the Lal Bahadur Shastri College of Advanced Maritime Studies & Research, and the Marine Engineering Research Institute became the Mumbai Campus of the Indian Maritime University. The 2 institutes in Kolkata, namely, the Marine Engineering Research Institute and the Indian Institute of Port Management became the Kolkata Campus of the University. The National Ship Design and Research Centre in Visakhapatnam and the National Maritime Academy in Chennai became the Visakhapatnam and Chennai Campuses respectively of the University. Post- November 2008, Kochi Campus was set up - in 2009. The University also has 21 Affiliated Institutes.

Indian Maritime University Campus:

  • Chennai Campus
  • Kochi Campus
  • Kolkata Campus
  • Mumbai Port Campus
  • Navi Mumbai Campus
  • Visakhapatnam Campus

Programmes: The following programmes are offered by the Indian Maritime University at its own Campuses and /or Affiliated Institutes:

  1. 4-Year B. Tech (Marine Engineering)
  2. 4-Year B. Tech (Naval Architecture & Ocean Engineering)
  3. 3-Year B. Sc (Maritime Science)
  4. 3-Year B. Sc (Nautical Science)
  5. 3-Year B. Sc (Ship Building & Repair) - This Programme is being conducted only in the Affiliated Institutes.
  6. 1-Year Diploma in Nautical Science (DNS) leading to B.Sc. (Applied Nautical Science)





Age limit
Age as on the date of admission on 01 August 2018 shall be as follows:
i) Minimum age - 17 years
ii) Maximum age - 25 Years
Note: For Scheduled Castes (SC) & Schedule Tribe candidates (ST) Candidates
maximum age relaxation is for five (5) years.
Relaxation in marks
For applicants belonging to SC/ST, a relaxation of 5% of the aggregate marks will
be considered for all programmes except in English subject marks.
Reservation of Seats
I) 15% of the total seats available to Indian Nationals are reserved for eligible
candidates belonging to Scheduled Castes, 7.5% for Scheduled Tribe and
27% Seats are reserved for Other Backward Class (OBC) candidates belonging to
non- creamy layer (NCL).
2) PwD may apply for admissions to BBA programme.
3) Reservation of seats in U.G courses for students from Andaman and
Nicobar Islands, Lakshadweep and Minicoy Islands, Eight North Eastern States
(including Sikkim) and Jammu & Kashmir in IMU, Campuses.
Maximum number of seats reserved in a given Academic Year for the U.G
Programmes put together in all IMU Campuses shall be as follows:
(i) Andaman and Nicobar Islands - 20 seats
(ii) Lakshadweep and Minicoy Islands - 10 seats
(iii) Eight North Eastern States (including Sikkim) - 40 seats
(iv) Jammu and Kashmir - 10 seats
Note: The allocation of seats for candidates from the above mentioned ‘Special
States’ except Andaman & Nicobar Islands, will be done after publication of the
Second List based on the residual seats, if any.

IMU Online Common Entrance Tests (CET)

CETs will be held for respective Programmes: 1 CET for UG Programmes [B.Tech (Marine Engineering), B.Tech (Naval Architecture and Ocean Engineering), B.Sc (Nautical Science), B.Sc (Maritime Science), B.Sc (Ship Building and Repair) and Diploma in Nautical Science].


The Syllabus for the various CETs will be as follows:

  1. a) Common Online CET for all UG Programmes [except BBA (Logistics, Retailing and E-Commerce) programme]
  2. No. of Questions – 200 multiple choice questions.
  3. Syllabus - English, General Aptitude, Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics at Plus 2 level.


The questions will be of multiple choice type. There will be no negative marking for wrong answers.

IMU reserves the right to change the distribution, types, level of difficulty, etc. of the questions asked from time to time.

Exam pattern of IMU CET 2019:

  • Exam duration will be 3 hours
  • Questions will be set in English language
  • The paper will include 200 multiple choice type
  • Questions will be asked from -  English, General Aptitude, Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics
  • The syllabus for the exam will be based on 10+2 level
  • There will be no negative marking.                                                                                                                                        

Subject-wise distribution:                                    

Subject (or sections)

Number of Questions



General Knowledge       


General Aptitude        












IMU’s Online Counselling

Candidates who are desirous of joining IMU Campuses and who are shortlisted based on CET scores will be required to register for Online Counselling for allotment of seats to the various Programmes of IMU Campuses followed by verification of original mark sheets and certificates, physical fitness certificate, etc.


Online Counselling will be limited to admissions to IMU Campuses only.

Affiliated Institutes will not be included for the process of Online Counselling. Students who have cleared the Online CET and are desirous of seeking admissions to Affiliated Institutes should approach the respective Affiliated Institute directly.


Andaman and Nicobar Islands

- 20 seats


Lakshadweep and Minicoy Islands

- 10 seats


Eight North Eastern States (including Sikkim)

- 40 seats


Jammu and Kashmir

- 10 seats